Fan the flame in the hard tymes!

#3Did you know that it is your responsibility to fuel yourself with more of God every day? The Bible tells us in Romans 12:11-12 “Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual ferver, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Wait a minute, let’s think about what that is saying here for a minute. It is your job as a Christian to make sure that you don’t burn out, you have to keep the spark going. Serving God even if you can’t see Him or feel Him in your life.

How do you do that, especially when you are being faced with great trials, tribulations and difficulties? How do you remain “patient in affliction” as this scripture says? What if I don’t want to be patient during my affliction? Affliction really hurts and nobody wants to go through pain, let alone be joyful and patient during the tough tymes. How do you remain faithful in prayer when you can’t see beyond your pain or circumstances? It’s okay to ask these kinds of questions. I wish I could say that through all the tough tymes I faced in my life that I was perfect and served God fervently.

Nope, I failed miserably so many tymes, I ended up running away from God instead of running towards Him. I am here to tell you that God just wants to encourage you during those tough tymes in your life. How can He encourage you if you run away from Him? It is during the tough tymes of your life that you need to run to Him for help the most. I learned that the difficult way, I guess I am kind of hard headed sometymes. Romans 5:3-5 says “Suffering produces perserverance; perserverance, character; and character, hope”. I used to tell people that God must want me to have lots of hope and character because I certainly went through enough suffering to last a lifetyme.

The truth is, it is through your sufferings that God pours out His love in you and gets all the glory. So how do you run towards God in your tyme of need? You run to Him by reading your Bible everyday and being faithful in prayer, even when you don’t feel God or see any results to your current situation. It is your job to keep running to God, not away from Him. It is in your desperate moments, the kind of tymes when you throw your hands up in the air and surrender all to HIM, that God seems to give hope or light at the end of the dark tunnel. This verse is for those who feel dry, desperate, lost, hopeless, in need of a miracle. Is that you today? Are you going through something that has you feeling a little lost or desperate, but you have no idea where go?

Let me encourage you today my friend. Be joyful in hope, God is right there and He is your hope in the dark tymes of your life. Be patient during this tyme of affliction, even when you can’t see God you can trust that HE is not too far away. Be faithful in prayer, now is when you need Him the most so don’t run away, run to HIM. Call upon His name and He will answer you!

*Photo(s)/Resource(s): Danielle Grehn

Leave a Reply

