The Worst Case Scenario is You’ll Be Better Off for Having Done It‏

13 No temptation[a] has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted[b] beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted,[c] he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.  – 1 Corinthians 10:13

cartoon_worstcasescenarioThere is a term that is use in modern society to describe a combination of circumstance that would produce a very negative situation. Worst Case Scenario. It seems that people in every area of life – business, military, education or just plain family situations, use this phrase when considering various options that they might have to choose from. One of the curses of a vivid imagination is that you’re able to dream up catastrophic worst case scenarios

  • Ending up on the street
  • Losing everything you have
  • Losing all your friends
  • Never falling in love
  • Ending up in a lousy relationship
  • Being Stuck where you are forever

In case you’re wondering, those are my personal worst case scenarios. But nothing is ever as bad as I think it’s going to be. I’ve had moments when I thought life was really going to break me, get the best of me, and spit me out on the floor to flounder. Even when I’ve lost jobs, had girls who I liked not call me back, and more it doesn’t sting anywhere as near as bad as I think it will.  Eventually I move on.

 So why does this even matter?

Lamentations 3:29 When life is heavy and hard to take, go off by yourself, enter the silence. Bow in prayer. Don’t ask questions: Wait for hope to appear. Don’t run from trouble. Take it full-face. The “worst” is never the worst.

As you know there’s a strong correlation between your tolerance for risk and your potential for success.  But most people let their worst case scenarios determine how they show up in the world.  They overestimate how happy their success will make them and how miserable their failure will make them. So they stand on the shore instead of a having the guts to get in the water.

You usually won’t die.  A few things I don’t recommend to get outside your comfort zone are:aj-hacket-bridge-bungee-jumping515

Getting out of your comfort zone is not about taking on a suicide mission. It’s about putting yourself in a place where you do things that might not work.  That’s the worst case scenario.

Your ideas  may be met  with resistance

You might fall off your surfboard the first time in the water

You might  come in last place in the the race. 

Somebody might ask for a refund on you 99 cent book (that happened to me this week)

People around you may raise an eyebrow (that’s usually a sign that you’re on to something big in my experience)

Mark Twain once quipped; “I am an old man and have known a great many troubles, but most of them never happened.”

I have, too. And the thing I’ve found after each “dead-end” was the next thing was better than the one before. Each lost job led to better work. Not necessarily better pay (as my wife is quick to remind me), but more fulfilling. I still dream about my prior jobs but when I wake up, I call them what they are: nightmares. I don’t want to “go back” because God is calling me to “come on.”

What “worst-case scenario” looms before you? Don’t run from it. Seek God in silence, voice your concerns, and wait for His strength. Despite all my setbacks, I”m still here kicking. I’ll sum it  up with the beautiful words of friend Aida Mollenkamp. “Your worst case scenario is that you’ll be better off for having done it”.

Psalms 126:5-6 Those who sow with tears will reap with songs of joy. Those who go out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with them.

Chances are, your “worst case scenario” won’t happen, but if it does, at least you’ll face it with God by your side.

*Photo(s)/Resource(s) courtesy: BlogcastFM/Skool of Life  & Mike Mazzalongo 
Leave a Reply

