Forrest Gump lied, Life is NOT Like A Box of Chocolates… It’s More Like A Rubik’s Cube

Here’s a theory that I’ve been kicking around for a while: life is like a Rubik’s cube – sometymes you have to make it worse before you can make it better. YES this theory started by being waking by my TV and the “Pursuit of Happines” being on 3am on TBS. God moves in mysterious ways!

“My life is like a rubik’s cube. As soon as I get one problem solved, another one appears. As soon as I get that one solved, it pushes something else out-of-place. It is hard getting every area of my life lined up. I wish there was a way that when I move from one area to the next, the previous area would stay in place.” And that’s my friend is the problem, I’m moving the pieces!

Life is a lot like this. When you are born, you are an innocent baby, or a solved Rubik’s Cube coming out of the package. However, as you begin going through life, you develop problems physically, mentally, and emotionally. As you get older, you turn the Rubik’s Cube of life. Your life can sometymes get so full of problems that you don’t think you can get it back to normal. As my life has taken its turn, it has gone from hope to devastation and back again. Throughout my entire life, I have been searching for the algorithms to twist my Rubik’s Cube of Life back into its correct position. However, as “I twist and turn it/ try to fix my life on my own” I almost get it finished but then one little turn knocks it completely out of shape again. There are about 43,252,003,274,489,856,000 possible permutations for a Rubik’s cube but there is only 1 right solution! I mean, can things ever get more complicated than that?

This kind of sounds like the number of chances I’ve been given by Father the redeemer so far in my life. Thanks God there is one Jesus who died for my many wrong moves. Back when I got my first cube (the big craze in 1980 – now I’m showing my age) they were literally everywhere, on key rings pendents…etc.), I wasn’t very good at figuring it out. I cheated a bit by getting a book that taught a solution, although I didn’t get very far with that until I was a few years older, or a hammer and   CRACK,  BANG, SMASH! I’m Done!           

Man plays with and successfully masters the complex Rubik’s Cube, and yet Man doubts himself when it comes to dealing with the complexities of his life! I agree, Life is complicated but now, let’s put things in proper perspective: Life is unfair but it is unfair to everyone, so life is fair!

What happens to us does not really matter as much as what we make of it when it does! i.e. one square at a tyme. God let’s us go through at tymes, so we can help others.  In particular, you can’t say “Ok, I’ve done the yellow side, now I’ll leave that alone while I do the red side”, due to the way that the cube is built. Firstly, you have to look at things in the right context. Every movable piece has one position where it belongs, e.g. each middle edge has two colored faces, and so the yellow/red edge piece has to be adjacent to the yellow and red centre pieces. If it is between the yellow and blue centre pieces, the yellow side might look fine, but the blue side will never be complete until that piece is moved.

That leads onto the second point – the Rubik’s Cube of the World has been turned out of shape, chances are that you will have to move that piece into a “worse” position on the cube before you can get it into the right position. So, it feels like you’re going from a situation where you have 1 side out of 6 done to a situation where none of the sides are complete. But if you don’t, you’ll never solve it. A significant issue here is that it’s not just a case of keeping a stiff upper lip, and waiting until it’s over – you have to actively make things worse. The other issue is that there’s no guarantee of success – you could wind up with a cube that’s scrambled even worse than it was when you started.

Taking this as an analogy for life, I think it’s all too easy to get stuck in a rut, where you’re not happy with the way things are, but you’re not quite uncomfortable enough to risk making them worse. Life is like a Rubik’s Cube because you get it completely solved. Then over tyme you mess it up and you can’t solve it anymore; unless you know the hints, tips and secrets on how to. You can’t just solve one side and keep it like that; you have to mess it up before it gets better. Each configuration is a path God has chosen for your life, and when you stir off that path, don’t worry have patience and God will get your life of a rubik’s cube back in order again. God is the master of all lives that appear to be rubik’s cubes. He created everyone in His own image, so He knows when it is out-of-order. If your life seems to be out-of-order like an unsolved rubik’s cube, READ and MEDITATE on Psalm 91.

I don’t have any real conclusion to all of this, but just know the secret code is not (Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, Start) like in the (Sega game Contra<-click on the link, life b4 PS3 & Wii)  it’s 1 Corinthians 10:12-13: “God never gives you more than you can handle, it’ll be as easy as needs to be”.

*Resources: Sega, Margaret Minnicks & Biblegateway
Leave a Reply

