The Only Thing Worse Than Being Blind Is Having Sight Without Vision

Do you have your sights set on the next level, but no real “vision” for your life? Do you have a vision in your mind that you’ve been too afraid or busy or distracted to commit it to paper? Where are you going? Where are you headed in life? Do you have a goal or destination in mind? What is the vision for your life? Too many people walk around and don’t have any idea where they are going. A nowhere destination always results from a nowhere plan.

Several years ago while I was still in the Army, I was blessed to accompany the 2nd Battalion, 22 Infantry, “Triple Deuce” to conduct three weeks of jungle operations training at Ft. Sherman, Panama. My unit and I were conducting Assault Climbers Training (ACT) at the Mountain Warfare Training Center. While tactically rappelling down a steep cliff. I had just tied off my 7/16” rope and put my harness on. I was attempting to step over the cliff and lost my footing.

I immediately started sliding down the cliff and fell over seventy plus feet. My grigri rappel system malfunctioned. I made the mistake of not checking the tie point for myself and paid the price. I ended up on the ledge sixty feet down; I had several puncture wounds on my legs and hands, and chipped a tooth on the way down as my face made contact the rocks. All of sudden, everything went dark. I couldn’t see anything. The panic which followed was pretty intense as you can imagine! I thought I was dead, then I heard my squad voice’s & thought I had just gone blind? But within seconds, my sight returned. Thank you JESUS!

For someone who has sight, I can’t imagine how terrible it would be to be blind premarital. But worse than being blind, would be being blind and deaf. This is how Helen Keller lived her life… blind and deaf. Helen Keller was asked “What would be worse than being born blind?” She replied, “To have sight without vision.” Proverbs 29:18 says “that where there is no vision the people perish”. With a vision life has direction. What you can see is what you can be. Though she accomplished more in her life than billions on the planet who both see and hear, some continued to have compassion on her, seeing her as some poor, unfortunate disabled person, while seeing themselves as whole and complete. Ms. Keller understood that it is not our sight which takes us places, but rather our vision.

Proverbs 29:18  puts it this way: “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”

People with vision possess two things: they know where they are going and they are able to persuade others to follow.

Hebrews 11:1 says: Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Faith is vision and vision is seeing a worthy possibility before it actually takes place. To fulfill a God given vision you must take the limits off your thinking. Why it is that two people can be in the same place at the same tyme and both see entirely different things? Could it be that we see what we are prepared to see? In other words, what you see if what you get.

I want to encourage you today to look within yourself. What do you see? Vision starts from within! Look behind you, what have you learned? Leonard Lauder, president of Estee Lauders Said “When a person with experience meets a person with money, the person with experience will get the money. And the person with the money will get the experience. Look ahead of you what is the big picture? Look above yourself, what is God expecting of you? Great visions are bigger than one person. Look beside you, what resources are available to you? A vision should be greater than the person who has it.

While pursuing your vision remember to put in the things you love. People carry pictures of other people and things they love with them. And remember to achieve the vision you are pursuing takes tyme. So, take tyme to stop and rest, smell the flowers, encourage someone and stay your course. We all need to be refreshed from tyme to tyme, mentally and physically. To fuel your vision you must have passion. Passion shows itself in different ways in different people. Vision is more than just a mental image of the future.

Vision sees a better, more desirable future and provides direction and fuels motivation for its achievement. To turn your vision into reality:

• You must picture the vision                                            • Get focused
• Give your heart to the vision                                          • Get organized to accomplish your vision
• Make sure your vision pleases God                              • Step out on faith and take a risk
• Put your faith into action

One of the reasons so many drift though life and end up on the rocks of devastation is because they have no vision. They have sight, which misleads them to believe they are making progress because they can see the movement all around them, but that movement is not progress. It’s merely movement. Progress comes not from sight, but from vision. It’s too bad there’s not a tool to check our vision like there is to check our site. You may have 20/20 sight, but what is your vision??

Walt Disney on his death bed had not completed building Epcot Center. What was to be his crown jewel and it was not likely he would be alive at its completion. In an interview he was asked how he felt knowing he would not be around to see the completion of such a marvelous project. His reply, “I’ve already seen it.” To have vision is such a blessing…to see things and people as they can be not what it or they are at the moment is truly a gift. I believe we all have the gift; it just takes effort to learn to apply it in our lives. God’s gift to you is your potential. Your gift back to God is what you do with that potential. Revisit, revamp and renew the vision for your life. And let’s not be a person who has sight but no vision!!!

5 thoughts on “The Only Thing Worse Than Being Blind Is Having Sight Without Vision

  1. This piece was absolutely phenomenal! Soul stirring, spiritually challenging, and a clarion call to action. My prayer is that my sight will not hinder my vision in this season of my life. Thank you for this it was a needed reminder.

  2. Pingback: V is for Vision « shanjeniah

  3. Hello FS4C. Being a blogger myself, I am very moved by this post and would love to feature the image “The Only Thing Worse Than Being Blind Is Having Sight Without Vision” on my blog: https://sightsol.blogspot.com/. I tried to find your contact information (email), but I was unable to do so, and that is why I made my message a comment. Nevertheless, I seek your permission to reblog the photo, and would be pleased to do so. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

