Sufficient? God’s Grace Is More Then Sufficient!

Just by chance I went to lunch with the Sr. Management team at my job. I rode with one of the executives who just so happen had to drop his car into the dealership. We where at Kerbeck Premium Brand Division and as he took care of his business with the repair shop, like most men I went DREAM SHOPPING. I don’t think since I was maybe ten did I lay my hands on something and start “Naming and Claiming!” I prayed to let God know that the USED ROLLS ROYCE that I was staring at would be MORE THAN SUFFICIENT for me! I would just give the keys to my Chrysler to anyone at the nearest bus stop if only!?

Now God didn’t allow me to leave that day with my dream car. But I know it coming. But God did use a Sale Specifications Sheet “you know the sheet in the window showing: Price, VIN, Condition: Brand-New Warranty: Full Factory Warranty, Transmission: Automatic, Horsepower: Sufficient to ministry to me. Sufficient? To me this has seemed to be a Rolls Royce marketing strategy if you will? Or them just bragging? So I asked the Salesman who explained that was the #1 asked question after a potential buyer would ask  after looking at the Spec sheet? The explanation went like this:

Once upon a time a well-to-do gentleman walked into a Rolls-Royce dealership with the intent of purchasing one of the world’s finest automobiles. The story goes that he was impressed by the quality of workmanship, the performance, the accoutrements, the ‘Spirit of Ecstasy’.  Absolutely everything about the automobile enchanted him.  He made his purchase.

Upon closing of the transaction he asked the salesperson, “By the way, I have but one question.  Can you please tell me, what is the horsepower of this remarkable vehicle?” The salesman replied, “I do not know sir, I’ll be happy to send your request to the Vice- President of Manufacturing.”

According to legend, the very next day our proud gentleman received a knock on his door, and a telegram from Rolls-Royce Motorcars, Vice-President of Manufacturing.

“ Good Morning Sir. Thank you for your confidence in purchasing one of our very fine vehicles. I also wish to thank you for your question regarding the horsepower of this vehicle.  I am proud to provide you your response.”

“The horsepower of each and every Rolls-Royce Automobile is… Sufficient.

It’s an Rolls-Royce what else would you aspect?”

Historically, Rolls-Royce has somewhat smugly declined to quote horsepower numbers, utilizing amusingly evasive language like “entirely sufficient” to describe its engines’ power outputs. Unlike Rolls, God has never been smug with his disclaimers! His grantee has always beaten Fords, GMC’s, Jaguar’s & even Rolls warranties:

  • “For by grace are ye saved through faith . . . it is the gift of God . . .” (Ephesians 2:8-9).
  • “I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye,” (Psalm 32:8). “. . . the LORD my God will enlighten my darkness,” (Psalm 18:28).
  • “The LORD is nigh unto all them that call upon Him, to all that call upon Him in truth,” (Psalm 145:18). “He has borne our grief’s and carried our sorrows,” (Isaiah 55:4).
  • “But my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus,” (Philippians 4:19).
  • “. . . but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day,” (II Corinthians 4:16).
  • So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Corinthians 12:7-9)

I had to hop onto my IPad and pull up www.biblegateway.com to view scriptures on God being sufficient. And of course the first one was 2 Corn 12:7-10 dealing with Paul.

The apostle Paul had direct experience with God being sufficient. He tells us what God taught him about this in his second letter to the Corinthians. Paul relays a message he received from God in this passage. When Paul asked God to take away a “thorn in his flesh,” God denied his request—because the thorn made Paul weak. Why would God want this for one of His faithful servants? Because it also made Paul powerful, grace is the key to being both weak and powerful at the same time. In fact, grace is all that is needed—grace alone is sufficient.

This sets up a conflict between the worlds—unavoidably mired in sin—and God. In the world, how much control you have determines your power. If you have more control over other people than they have over you, then you have power. If you control more money than others, then you have power. Conversely, if you have given or lost control to others, voluntarily or involuntarily, you are weak. If you control less money than others, then you are weak, and so on.

In God’s system, the more you attempt to control things yourself, the more you close off access to the Spirit’s power. On the other hand, the more you relinquish control to God’s Holy Spirit to guide you, inspire you, and act through you, the more power you have. And this is not just any power. This is the power that created the entire universe, that healed the sick through Jesus’ touch, and that ultimately raised Jesus from the dead! So, the weaker you become in the world’s eyes, the more real power you actually attain.

Most of us would say that yielding control is hard, but we’re just fooling ourselves. We yield control all the time without even realizing it. When we need to get to the fourteenth floor of our office building, we turn control over to an elevator rather than maintaining control and trudging up the stairs. Instead of walking across the country to visit loved ones, we turn control over to a pilot and a jet aircraft. We are actually quite good at giving up control when it is to our benefit. And what could benefit us more than the power of God?*

 So, is God’s grace sufficient? Yes! Abundantly so! That’s the truth.

Grace enables you to make it, no matter what. No matter who turns against you, no matter what obstacles you face, no matter how many times you fail. God’s incredible grace is there to pick you up, to revive lost hope, to heal broken bones, and to strengthen your weak will. It is never inadequate, nor is it ever depleted. It never spoils and it has no expiration date.

* Resource: blogging YouTruth

Leave a Reply

