Fear or Faith ???

Could your greatest fear be God’s greatest opportunity to express His glory through you?

And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith?  Mark 4:40

Fear is something many people struggle with. I have had my own battles with fear throughout the years and for a time it seemed the more my journey of life continued, the more “different” kinds of fear I battled.

According to what Jesus is saying in the above verse, fear is simply lack of faith. It doesn’t mean you do not have faith in God. It means you lack faith in what God can do for you. Fear causes many other things in our lives, such as anger, depression, resentment, lying, etc.

I’ve often found in my life that the things I know God wants me to do are also the things I fear doing the most. Many tymes God has allowed me to get into situations where I’m “over my head” or “out of my league”, which scares me to death, but it’s also at those tymes that He seems to be doing or wants to do His best work through me. The challenge is to be walking close enough to God that I can sense His desire and direction for my life and then to obediently follow the path He lays out for me.

Lately I’ve been sensing some scary challenges God is laying before me. What will I allow to determine my next steps…my fear….or my faith in God’s ability to display His glory through my obedience?

I see my role as a person who moves people. Reading Ephesians 2 this morning I was reminded that I’m responsible for moving people from death to life. I understand that’s mostly referring to salvation, but I think it’s also referring to life. Sometymes I live more like a child of the world than a child of the person of God. I don’t think I’m alone in this. So, my questions for today: Am I “living” the full life of Christ? Who am I helping today to move from death to life? I think I need to be more intentional in that effort.

Do you seem to struggle to get where you hope to get in life? Do you watch as others accomplish their dreams, but yours never seem to materialize? Why do some people move forward after difficulties, but others stall?

In my experience, there are a few common reasons people are held back from accomplishing their dreams, even their God-given dreams and why people stall in life. Here are 3 stumbling blocks to moving forward:

Refusing to let go of the past – When people allow failures or mistakes to define their life, they often refuse to try again. Many people continue the blame game, never getting past the injury caused by others. Instead of moving forward in spite of a painful past, many allow their past to remain their destiny.

Holding on to fearFear is a natural emotion and can actually keep us from making mistakes at tymes. The negative use of fear grips a person’s reality and clouds his or her ability to see beyond that which a person fears. When fear is allowed to be dominant over a willingness to take a risk, however, the person stalls.

Failing to take action – Let’s face it. Some people are lazy and refuse to assume their individual responsibility that is required to move forward. Many people aren’t lazy, but they stall because, for whatever reason, they fail to take a step towards their dream, either assuming a perfect timing will come or the stars will align in a certain order granting instant success. Unless action is taken, however, dreams almost always remain simply a dream, and never become reality.

Be honest with yourself. Which of these is keeping you from moving forward? Have you seen other reasons?

Below is a Marianne Williamson quote she posted today on Facebook.  It struck just the right chord in me.

There is no such thing as a faithless person; we either have faith in the power of love or faith in the power of fear.  For faith is an aspect of consciousness.  Have faith in love and fear will lose its power over you.  Have faith in forgiveness, and your self-hatred will fall way.  Have faith in miracles and they will come to you.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Fear or Faith ???

  1. Pingback: Faith « Earthpages.ca

  2. God power works thru us only when WE choose to ALLOW him (FREE WILL). We either choose to follow God or Not, in otherwords You either choose GOOD or DESTRUCTION, GOD or SATAN. Things drag out for a long time becauses of the choices WE make, God has already provided all the blessing and the way out we just have to choose.

    Remember God desires or fellowship with him let us not just DO THINGS and NOT appreciate, worship and praise him because HE IS A GOOD GOD.

Leave a Reply

