STOP Hoarding Yesterday’s Junk!

I realized that there was a tyme I valued & loved a lot of “junk” that I had in my life more than your relationship with Jesus?  I can look back and realize that those things – love of power, money, prestige, or material goods, etc. – are worthless because of what Jesus Christ has done for you on the cross?  I can now see that love of those things is junkjunk that can prevent you from growing closer to Jesus if you do not throw it out?

I learned that the failures in my past definitely stop me from moving forward. Why? I did not like the feeling of being rejected, being hurt and how other people may think about my failures. Don’t get me wrong, I understand it can be challenging to totally remove from your mind certain memories or things that have bothered or upset you in the past. None of us (especially not me) have made it to this point without our own fair share of “junk”; and “junk” has a way of leaving a lasting impression.

But we must be on guard against spiritual stagnation. We must place our relationship with Christ first in our lives. We often shy away from spiritual growth because we know that growth is often accompanied by pain. We want to run from our troubles rather than press forward. But the Bible tells us, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us” (Hebrews 12:1).

As I was looking at a picture of a quote on a friend‘s Facebook page by Louise Smith. I heard these word in the depths of my spirit Put your determination where your desire is! The Holy Spirit spoke those seven simple words to me… and they bear repeating: Put your determination where your desire is!

We need to stop wishing and get determined! Whatever they are, stop wishing and get determined. See, the difference between hoping and wishing is significant. A wish is a desire for something that seems unattainable. (But nothing is impossible with God.) Hope, by contrast, is desire with an expectation of attainment. Hope expects with confidence. Hope cherishes a desire with anticipation. Hope breeds faith—and faithful determination generates grace.

I’ll admit it! I’m an imperfect human, I don’t know about you? It’s too easy for me to revert back to our independent ways, especially when things seem to go well for us. We quickly forget about Christ’s strength and joy when we find comfort and happiness in our circumstances.

Paul said in Philippians 3:7-9 is so very true – “I once thought all these things were so very important, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the priceless gain of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. I have discarded everything else, counting it all as junk, so that I may have Christ and become one with him.”

You can’t take advantage of everything great that will come your way, if you are focusing on “junk” that has already come and go. If there is one thing I know for sure, it is that we have the ability to create and shape the reality we experience. We have the opportunity everyday to take advantage of God’s “present” that has been given to us. We get to decide how we are going to live, the chances we are going to take, and what specifically we are going to do every single day.

Believe it or not, we really do get to choose what we focus our minds on. According to Wikipedia, “I know everything on that site might not be right? But for sake of argument let’s just use it!” we have on average 74,000+ thoughts a day. The question is what are we choosing to do with these thoughts? Are we allowing all the “junk” from yesterday to monopolize too many of our 74,000 thoughts? Are we wasting a lot of our thoughts on stuff we really can’t do anything about and “junk” that just upsets us? When you live life this way, there is just no room for any regret. How could there be? It’s when you miss out on your opportunities and don’t do the things you could have that the regret sets in. The choice is always ours. I know I am not interested in having any regrets. I interested in using the wisdom. Not my wisdom but Godly wisdom.

In Ecclesiastes 7:11-12 reads, Wisdom, like an inheritance, is a good thing and benefits those who see the sun. Wisdom is a shelter as money is a shelter, but the advantage of knowledge is this: that wisdom preserves the life of its possessor”

When we have Godly wisdom, we see things from an eternal perspective–not from a worldly, temporal perspective. And when we see things from an eternal perspective, we accept the challenges and unexpected turns of life. We are able to face obstacles, turning them from hindrances into stepping-stones.

Solomon is saying that when we face challenging situations in life, wisdom will be far more precious than a very rich inheritance. Unlike the stoke market, Godly wisdom keeps its value; godly wisdom will never depreciate! Godly wisdom gives us perspective, vision, and a purpose for living. If we have godly wisdom, then we will have balance in life. When we have godly wisdom, we are going to walk by faith–both on the familiar roads of life and the unfamiliar ones.

Paul encouraged the Philippians, “But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:13-14).

While we may have to strain our spiritual muscles in order to grow, we will find joy in the midst of our struggles if we focus on Christ and let go of that junk! Is there any junk in your life today that you should be throwing out…?

Leave a Reply

