A New Wardrobe

This morning I woke up to the guy with the bow-tie on the news stating the temperature was going to be close to 60 degrees today. Even still I began digging down deep into the storage container; I was searching for one of my comfortable sweater.  Some of my favorite things are comfortable, but most of them don’t look as good anymore.

Some lost their shape or they are no longer in style, some of them were never in style per my wife. And that I should take them out of my wardrobe! But I wear them anyway!

Today I didn’t. Even though there was a chill in the air this morning, I knew the day would be too warm for my comfortable sweater.  It is easy to simply put on our most comfortable clothes, especially as this weather keeps changing. As life is changing, we cling to our comfortable routine, our comfort food, and we tend to stick by the people we are most comfortable with. Although this can be good for us and make us feel better, it is not always the choice that is better for us.

You see, I have some comfortable habits.

Even though I know some of them are not the best choices, I still like to put them on too. It’s easier than discipline. Being disciplined does not always come easy for me. At tymes it requires a great effort for me to maintain a schedule of any kind. I am always grateful for reminder emails and phone calls from my wife; I’d probably never make a deadline or an appointment without my scheduler on my Ipad, Iphone and laptop.   I need outside structure to help me stay focused, otherwise, I get too comfortable with life the way it is. I have found that my attitude and habits can get pretty comfortable for me, but uncomfortable for others, so I also need gentle reminders in that area from tyme to tyme.

“So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.”                      Colossians 3:12-14 Message

Because we are chosen by God…

…we have new life and a new wardrobe.

There are no comfy sweaters in those verses, but everyday choices that give evidence that we are called to be different. There will be days when we are not as successful in putting on this new wardrobe, because those comfy sweaters are just so comfy, even if they are out of style. But do not lose heart; tomorrow is a new day.

Will you choose the wardrobe God tailored for you? Or that comfy sweater?                                                     *reprint

Leave a Reply

